🔥 Woolly pork is back Order Now 🔥

"In the day of great crises, the fever of ideas is salutary."

The origin of Meaty

Faced with the socio-economic and environmental problems facing humanity today, two friends set out to "make things happen". More than just a personal project, the idea of sharing livestock represents, in their eyes, a change. "Change" insofar as, in this era of globalization, this project enables us to return to an economy where "local" becomes the watchword.

Basically, Meaty is not an innovation, since it promotes a "back to basics" approach. For example, direct farm sales are far from being a novelty, as they are in fact the basis of our civilization. The innovation lies rather in the form; thanks to today's means, sharing animals is now collaborative and within everyone's reach.

The meat industry

Unfortunately, today's factory farming industry tries to make the most of animal exploitation by speculating on live animals and wasting a considerable amount of meat for profit. This often goes hand in hand with the mistreatment of animals, who endure hours-long motorized journeys and are crammed together in appalling conditions for days on end at the slaughterhouse.

What about Geneva?

Fortunately, not everyone agrees with this unacceptable treatment. In Geneva, and particularly at the Meinier abattoir, Joël Mudry - in charge of the slaughterhouse - does his utmost to ensure that animals are treated with dignity. With the help of the Service Cantonal des Affaires Vétérinaires, he ensures that the animal is transported from the farm to the abattoir in healthy and safe conditions; for each slaughter, the cantonal veterinarian carries out an examination to ensure that the animal is in perfect health and meets the standards of the law on animal protection.

On the other hand, in Meinier, the employees work in the traditional way. Three butchers for an animal sometimes weighing close to a ton, and all by hand. The butcher personally knows each breeder who brings him animals. He knows the history of each animal. There's a strong link between the breeder and the butcher, and passing an animal from one to the other is an emotional moment.

Our answer

Based on a survey of around 200 regular meat consumers in Geneva, we found that most Genevans have a mistaken view of the provenance of the products on their plates. Our project therefore has a dual objective. On the one hand, to promote local consumption; we want to give greater visibility to local breeders and recognition of their work among Genevans. On the other, we want to offer an ethical meat-consumption alternative that enables the animals to be valued and treated well, while maintaining high taste quality. Since September 2020, we've been delighted to offer this service and are honored by the positive feedback we've received from our customers.

In our humble opinion, eating "good" meat is a responsibility that includes everyone involved, from breeder to consumer.

ruben-yann

Ruben Magnin and Yann Flores, co-founders of Meaty

Unable to add to cart

Possible reasons:

  • Quantity requested exceeds availability.
    Please check what has already been added to the basket.
  • Some products cannot be ordered simultaneously.
    Please consult the information on the product page.
Need help? Don't hesitate to Contact us.

« Au jour des grandes crises, la fièvre des idées est salutaire. »

Emile de Girardin

L'origine de Meaty

Face aux problèmes socioéconomiques et environnementaux auxquels l’Humanité fait face actuellement, deux amis entreprennent de « faire bouger les choses ». Au-delà même d’un simple projet personnel, l’idée de partage de bétail représente, à leurs yeux, un changement. « Changement » dans la mesure où dans cette ère de mondialisation, ce projet permet de retourner à une économie où le terme « local » devient le maître-mot.

Dans le fond, Meaty n’est pas une innovation puisqu’elle promeut un « retour aux sources ». Ainsi, la vente directe à la ferme est loin d’être une nouveauté car elle est en fait la base de notre civilisation. L’innovation se situe plutôt dans la forme; grâce aux moyens actuels, le partage de bête est rendu collaboratif et à la portée de tous.

L’industrie de la viande

Malheureusement, de nos jours, l’élevage industriel tente de tirer le maximum de profits de l’exploitation animale en spéculant sur des animaux vivants et en gaspillant une quantité considérable de viande pour des motivations de rentabilité. Par ailleurs, ce fonctionnement va souvent de pair avec le mauvais traitement des animaux ; ils subissent des trajets motorisés de plusieurs heures et, à l’abattoir, ils sont entassés dans des conditions épouvantables pendant plusieurs jours.

Qu’en est-il à Genève ?

Fort heureusement, ce traitement inadmissible ne fait pas l’unanimité. À Genève, et notamment à l’abattoir de Meinier, Joël Mudry – en charge de l’abattoir – met tout en œuvre pour garantir aux animaux un traitement digne. Avec l’aide du Service Cantonal des Affaires Vétérinaires, il s’assure que l’animal est transporté de la ferme à l’abattoir dans des conditions saines et sûres ; pour chaque abattage, le vétérinaire cantonal procède à un examen afin de s’assurer que l’animal est en parfaite santé et qu’il répond aux normes concernant la loi sur la protection des animaux.

Par ailleurs, à Meinier, les employés travaillent de manière artisanale. Trois bouchers pour un animal de parfois près d’une tonne, et tout ceci à la force des bras. Le boucher connaît personnellement chaque éleveur qui lui amène des animaux. Il connaît l’histoire de chaque bête. Un lien solide lie le métier d’éleveur à celui de boucher et le passage de l’animal de l’un à l’autre représente un moment d’émotion.

Notre réponse

D’après un sondage effectué sur environ 200 consommateurs réguliers de viande à Genève, nous avons pu constater que la plupart des genevois ont une vision erronée concernant la provenance des produits qui se retrouvent dans leur assiette. Notre projet répond donc à un double objectif. D’une part, promouvoir la consommation locale; nous souhaitons donner une meilleure visibilité aux éleveurs locaux et une reconnaissance de leur travail parmi les Genevois. D’autre part, nous souhaitons offrir une alternative de consommation de viande éthique permettant une valorisation et un bon traitement des animaux, tout en maintenant une qualité gustative élevée. Depuis septembre 2020, c’est avec une immense joie que nous offrons ce service et sommes honorés par les retours positifs de nos clients.

À notre humble avis, manger de la « bonne » viande représente donc une responsabilité qui comprend tous les acteurs, de l’éleveur au consommateur.

ruben-yann

Ruben Magnin et Yann Flores, co-fondateurs de Meaty