­čöą Woolly pork is back Order Now ­čöą

How to store meat?

Food preservation is a subject that has preoccupied mankind since the dawn of time. Thanks to advances in biochemistry, modern preservation techniques have become highly technological. In this article, we take a look at meat preservation for the average person with a refrigerator and some common sense at their disposal.

dehydrated pork belly
Salted and cured pork belly

What is conservation?

Meat preservation encompasses all techniques aimed at preserving the food's nutritional properties while ensuring that it remains edible, particularly for humans.

Without preservative treatment, meat is a foodstuff that degrades naturally, due to its enzyme and fatty acid content. In addition, several external factors accelerate its degradation: putrefaction under the action of various microorganisms, bacterial development and contamination by certain insects that lay eggs in it.

As the ingestion of spoiled meat can cause serious food poisoning, it's clear that its preservation is of prime importance. However, with so much information and opinion on the subject, it can be difficult to find simple, reliable information. Here's our summary of the essentials when it comes to preservation.

Cold chain and packaging

Meat preservation practices apply at every stage between production and tasting, which is why we speak in this field of respecting the " cold chain ". No matter how you store your meat at home, if the cold chain has not been respected upstream, it is likely to be spoiled.

At Meatywe make this a point of honor, for example by offering refrigerated delivery all year round. The entire supply chain for the meat we offer complies with the directives of the Service de la Consommation et des Affaires V├ęt├ęrinaires (SCAV) as well as those of theDFI Ordinance on hygiene in food-related activities (OHyg).

What's more, we deliver our cuts of meat in high-quality, tight-fitting, watertight vacuum packs. Packing and use-by dates are indicated on each package.

Song specificities

Not all cuts of meat degrade at the same rate. For example, beef beef keeps better than lamb meat which keeps better than a whole whole chicken.

The shape of the piece also has an influence. The higher the surface-to-volume ratio, the shorter the shelf life. The surface-to-volume ratio is expressed in terms of relative exposure to air: for equal weight, a sliced piece is more exposed to air than a roast. To put it simply, large pieces generally keep better than small ones.

emince roti
Sliced beef and simmered roast

In addition, the fat content also influences the speed of degradation; a piece containing a lot of fat (fatty acid) will have a reduced shelf life.

Finally, we believe that common sense should always be used when assessing the condition of a cut. The appearance of meat, particularly its smell and color, says a lot about its state of preservation. The best-before date is a mandatory piece of information, which is often too strict if the preservation conditions have been perfectly respected. On the other hand, a piece of meat may be spoiled early on, for example if it has not been transported in accordance with the cold chain. When in doubt, always respect the best-before date.

Keep meat refrigerated

Refrigeration involves storing meat in an environment below 5┬░C. The cold stabilizes the meat by reducing the activity of enzymes and microorganisms, in inverse proportion to the temperature. The colder the environment, the lower the activity of enzymes and microorganisms, and the more effective the preservation. This means that fresh meat can be kept for several days.

Here are some examples of Meaty's recommended maximum refrigerated storage times:

Maximum shelf life, refrigerated, maximum 5┬░C, vacuum-packed

Beef chuck, roast, prime rib

9 days

Sliced loin, steak, lamb or pork chops

7 days

Minced meat

5 days

Bones

3 days

Whole chicken

2 days

Keep meat in the freezer

Meat is considered frozen from -18┬░C to -30┬░C. Below that point, it is deep-frozen. In addition to the above-mentioned effects of cold, freezing further stabilizes meat by freezing the water it contains. Water is a favorable medium for bacterial development, unless it is solid (ice). Under these conditions, meat can be kept for several months without additives.

Here are some examples of Meaty's freezer shelf life recommendations:

Maximum freezer shelf life, -18┬░C to -30┬░C, vacuum-packed

-18┬░C

-24┬░C

-30┬░C

Pork meat

4 to 8 months

8 to 10 months

12 months

Lamb and veal meat

5 to 6 months

12 months

12 months

Beef

10 to 12 months

18 months

24 months

Poultry

10 to 12 months

18 months

24 months

It should be noted that cuts should be frozen when fresh. If the meat shows signs of "aging", it's better to eat it than freeze it. Freezing will in no way improve its condition. At best, freezing/thawing does (almost) no damage to the meat; at worst, if the process is not followed correctly, the quality of the food may be significantly impaired.

To limit the harmful effects of freezing, please observe the following principles:

  1. Freeze efficiently (quickly). One of the most common negative effects of freezing is the loss of meat juices. The amount of juice lost depends directly on the speed of freezing. The faster the food is completely frozen, the less likely it is to lose juice when defrosted. So make sure your freezer is working properly, and place your cuts in the coldest places.
  2. Defrost gently (slowly). To further limit the loss of juices and preserve the meat's original texture, it is essential to avoid thermal shock. It is therefore advisable to defrost meat in the refrigerator, for several days if necessary. Note that it is advisable to air the meat 1 hour before cooking, in order to aerate it and bring it to room temperature.
  3. Use suitable packaging. To avoid cold "burn" and freeze in optimum conditions, use suitable packaging, such as the vacuum bags in which we deliver our food.
  4. Favour cuts with a reduced surface/volume ratio (cf. Specificity of cuts). These cuts generally keep better and are more resistant to freezing and thawing.

Preserving cooked meat

In some cases, freezing is not an alternative. In other cases, the meat has already been prepared. It is interesting to note that cooking improves preservation through its sterilizing effect. Cooked meat can therefore be kept for a few extra days in the refrigerator.

Traditional preservation methods

Cured meats

Salting is one of the oldest methods of preservation. Salt, a naturally abundant element, has the ability to chemically bind to water, making it unfavorable to the reproduction of bacteria and microorganisms. This effect is known as bacteriostatic.

Drying

In the Alpine canton of Graub├╝nden, our ancestors used to dry meat in the pure Alpine air, thus improving its preservation by draining the water from it. In those days, the inhabitants of remote valleys had to stock up on provisions to meet the energy requirements imposed by the long, harsh winter months.

pâturage-suisse
Grazing in the Swiss Alps

Smoking

Smoking uses the smoke produced by burning wood. The smoke has fungistatic (fungus-inhibiting) and antiseptic properties. For optimum preservation, smoking is often combined with drying.

It is interesting to note that each of the traditional preservation techniques rubs off on the taste of the meat. Today, the trend is to use preservation methods that minimize the impact on the food's nutritional properties. As is often the case, what were once necessary preservation techniques have now become culinary traditions.

In a nutshell

Meat preservation, and food preservation in general, is a complex subject. Nevertheless, all it takes is a few basic notions and a general understanding to optimize your day-to-day practices. Here, in a nutshell, are the fundamental principles not to be overlooked:

  • Store the meat in the refrigerator to be eaten soon. Otherwise, freeze directly.
  • Defrost meat gently in the refrigerator
  • Use common sense and trust food appearance

Main sources

Professional knowledge of the Swiss meat industry UPSV (book)

Swiss Meat Trade Association

Unable to add to cart

Possible reasons:

  • Quantity requested exceeds availability.
    Please check what has already been added to the basket.
  • Some products cannot be ordered simultaneously.
    Please consult the information on the product page.
Need help? Don't hesitate to Contact us.

Publié le Laisser un commentaire

Comment conserver la viande ?

Comment conserver la viande ?

La conservation des aliments est un sujet qui préoccupe l’homme depuis la nuit des temps. Grâce aux avancées dans le domaine de la biochimie, les techniques de conservation modernes sont devenues hautement technologiques. Dans cet article, nous nous intéressons à la conservation de la viande pour le citoyen lambda ayant comme outils à disposition un réfrigérateur et du bon sens.

Qu’est-ce que la conservation ?

La conservation de la viande comprend l’ensemble des techniques visant à conserver les propriétés nutritives de l’aliment en veillant à le garder comestible, et ce en particulier pour les humains.

Sans traitement de conservation, la viande est un aliment qui se dégrade naturellement, de par sa teneur en enzymes et en acides gras. En outre, plusieurs facteurs extérieurs accélèrent sa dégradation : putréfaction sous l’action de divers microorganismes, développement bactérien et contamination par certains insectes qui y pondent des œufs.

L’ingestion de viande avariée pouvant causer des intoxications alimentaires graves, il est évident que sa conservation est primordiale. Néanmoins, face à la multitude d’informations et d’avis sur le sujet, il est parfois difficile de trouver une information simple et fiable. Voici notre résumé sur l’essentiel en matière de conservation.

Chaine du froid et emballage

Les pratiques de conservation de la viande s’appliquent à chaque étape entre la production et la dégustation, c’est pourquoi nous parlons dans le domaine de respect de la « chaine du froid ». Peu importe comment vous conservez votre viande à la maison, si la chaine du froid n’a pas été respectée en amont, celle-ci risque d’être avariée.

Chez Meaty, nous mettons un point d’honneur sur ce point, en proposant par exemple une livraison réfrigérée toute l’année. Toute la chaine logistique de la viande que nous proposons respecte les directives du Service de la consommation et des affaires vétérinaires (SCAV) ainsi que celles de l’Ordonnance du DFI sur l’hygiène dans les activités liées aux denrées alimentaires (OHyg).

Par ailleurs, nous livrons nos morceaux de viande dans des emballages sous-vide de haute qualité, ajustés et parfaitement imperméable. Les dates d’emballage et de consommation sont indiquées sur chaque paquet.

Spécificités des morceaux

Tous les morceaux de viande ne se dégradent pas à la même vitesse. Par exemple, la viande de bœuf se conserve mieux que la viande d’agneau qui se conserve mieux qu’un poulet entier.

La forme du morceau a aussi une influence. En effet, plus le rapport surface / volume est élevé, moins la durée de conservation est bonne. Le rapport surface / volume se traduit par l’exposition relative à l’air : un émincé est, à poids égal, plus exposé à l’air qu’un rôti. Pour faire simple, les gros morceaux se conservent généralement mieux que les petits.

Émincé de bœuf et rôti à mijoter

En outre, le taux de matière grasse influe également sur la rapidité de dégradation; un morceau contenant beaucoup de matière grasse (d’acide gras), verra son potentiel de conservation réduit.

Finalement, nous sommes d’avis qu’il faut toujours faire preuve de bon sens lors de l’évaluation de l’état d’un morceau. L’aspect de la viande, en particulier son odeur et sa couleur, en dit beaucoup sur son état de conservation. La date limite de consommation est une information obligatoire qui s’avère souvent trop sévère, si les conditions de conservation ont été parfaitement respectées. À l’inverse, une pièce de viande peut être avariée de manière précoce, par exemple si celle-ci n’a pas été acheminée dans le respect de la chaine du froid. En cas de doute, respectez toujours la date limite de consommation.

Conserver la viande au réfrigérateur

La réfrigération consiste au stockage de la viande dans un milieu inférieur à 5°C. Le froid a pour effet la stabilisation de la viande en réduisant l’activité des enzymes et des microorganismes, de manière inversement proportionnelle à la température. Plus le milieu est froid, mois l’activité des enzymes et des microorganismes est importante, plus la conservation est efficace. Ainsi, il est possible de garder la viande fraîche plusieurs jours.

Voici quelques exemples de durées maximales de conservation au réfrigérateur conseillés par Meaty :

Durées maximales de conservation au réfrigérateur, maximum 5°C, emballé sous-vide

Grosse pièce, rôti, côte de bœuf

9 jours

Émincé, steak, côtelettes d’agneau ou de porc

7 jours

Viande hachée

5 jours

Os

3 jours

Poulet entier

2 jours

Conserver la viande au congélateur

Une viande est considérée comme congelée de -18°C à -30°C. En dessous, on parle de surgélation. En plus des effets du froid cités ci-dessus, la congélation permet de stabiliser davantage la viande grâce la glaciation de l’eau qu’elle contient. En effet, l’eau est un milieu favorable au développements bactériens, à moins d’être solide (glace). Dans ces conditions, la viande se conserve plusieurs mois sans additifs.

Voici quelques exemples de durées maximales de conservation au congélateur conseillés par Meaty :

Durées maximales de conservation au congélateur, -18°C à -30°C, emballé sous-vide

-18°C

-24°C

-30°C

Viande de porc

4 à 8 mois

8 à 10 mois

12 mois

Viande d’agneau et de veau

5 à 6 mois

12 mois

12 mois

Viande de bœuf

10 à 12 mois

18 mois

24 mois

Volaille

10 à 12 mois

18 mois

24 mois

Il convient de noter que les morceaux doivent être congelés lorsqu’ils sont bien frais. Si la viande présente des signes de « vieillissement », il vaut mieux la manger que la congeler. En effet, la congélation n’améliorera en aucun cas son état. Au mieux, la congélation/décongélation ne fait subir (presque) aucun dégât à la viande; au pire, si le procédé est mal respecté, la qualité de l’aliment peut être notablement péjorée.

Pour limiter les effets néfastes liés à la congélation, veillez à respecter les principes suivants :

  1. Congelez de manière efficace (rapidement). Un des effets négatifs les plus communs liés à la congélation est la perte de jus de la viande. La quantité de jus perdu dépend directement de la rapidité de congélation. Plus la congélation complète est rapide, moins l’aliment aura tendance à rendre du jus lors de sa décongélation. Assurez-vous donc que votre congélateur fonctionne correctement et placez vos morceaux dans les endroits les plus froids.
  2. Décongelez en douceur (lentement). Pour limiter davantage la perte de jus et conserver la texture originale de la viande, il est primordial d’éviter les chocs thermiques. Ainsi, il est conseillé de décongeler la viande au réfrigérateur, durant plusieurs jours si nécessaire. Notez qu’une mise à l’air libre est conseillée 1h avant la cuisson afin d’aérer le morceau et lui donner la température ambiante.
  3. Utilisez des emballage adaptés. Pour éviter les « brûlures » dues au froid et congeler dans des conditions optimales, favorisez les emballages adaptés, tels que les sacs sous-vide dans lesquels nous livrons les aliments.
  4. Favoriser les morceaux au rapport surface / volume réduit (cf. Spécificités des morceaux). Ces morceaux se conservent généralement mieux et supportent mieux la congélation ainsi que la décongélation.

Conserver la viande cuite

Dans certains cas, la congélation n’est pas une alternative. Dans d’autres cas, la viande a déjà été préparée. Il est intéressant de noter que la cuisson améliore la conservation par son effet stérilisant. Ainsi, la viande cuite peut être conservée quelques jours supplémentaires au réfrigérateur.

Méthodes traditionnelles de conservation

Salaison

La salaison est l’une des plus vielles méthodes de conservation. Le sel, élément abondant en milieu naturel, a la capacité de se lier chimiquement à l’eau, la rendant ainsi défavorable à la reproduction de bactéries et de microorganismes. Cet effet est connu sous le nom de bactériostatique.

Séchage

Dans le canton alpin des Grisons, nos ancêtres avaient pour coutume de faire sécher la viande à l’air pur des Alpes, améliorant ainsi sa conservation en la vidant de son eau. À l’époque, les habitants des vallées reculées se devaient de constituer des provisions pour subvenir aux besoins énergétiques imposés par les longs et rudes mois d’hiver.

L’un des 600 lacs recensés aux Grisons

Fumage

Le fumage utilise la fumée résultant de la combustion du bois. Cette dernière possède des propriétés fongistatique (qui inhibe le développement de champignons) et antiseptiques. Pour une conservation optimale, le fumage est souvent associé au séchage.

Il est intéressant de noter que chacune des techniques traditionnelles de conservation déteint sur le goût de la viande. Aujourd’hui, la tendance est plutôt d’utiliser les méthodes de conservation minimisant l’impact sur les propriétés nutritives de l’aliment. Comme souvent, ce qui d’antan était des techniques de conservation nécessaires est devenu aujourd’hui des traditions culinaires.

En résumé

La conservation de la viande, et d’une manière plus générale, celle des aliments, est un sujet complexe. Néanmoins, il suffit de quelques notions de bases et d’une compréhension générale pour optimiser ses pratiques au quotidien. Voici en résumé les principes fondamentaux à ne pas négliger :

  • Stocker la viande au réfrigérateur pour la manger prochainement. Sinon, la mettre directement au congélateur
  • Décongeler la viande en douceur, en passant par le réfrigérateur
  • Faire usage de bon sens et se fier à l’aspect de l’aliment

Sources principales

Connaissances professionnelles de l’économie carnée suisse UPSV (livre)

Union Professionnelle Suisse de la Viande

Une remarque ou une question ? N’hésitez pas à utiliser l’espace commentaire.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.