🔥 Woolly pork is back Order Now 🔥

Should we feel guilty about eating meat?

Meat is at the heart of today's controversies. Since we started sharing our content on our Facebook pagepage, we've regularly received scathing messages suggesting that we should be ashamed of promoting meat consumption, as feeding on animals would be considered unacceptable these days. Far from wanting to dismiss the debate, we wanted to share our point of view on the subject.

The environmental impact of meat

We couldn't broach the subject without looking at the environmental impact of meat consumption. Scientists agree that meat production is one of the main sources of greenhouse gases. The resulting consumption of water is also very high, and in some countries, the meat industry is responsible for massive deforestation (which in turn emits large quantities of greenhouse gases and seriously harms biodiversity).

deforestation-industrial
Industrial deforestation

Meat and health

In addition to environmental issues, it is legitimate to ask about its impact on health. Numerous studies have demonstrated the link between red meat consumption and cardiovascular disease. responsible for almost half of all deaths.

Blockbusters and excesses

Finally, the meat trade is a sector which, like so many others, suffers from the excesses of this mad race for profits imposed by our economic system. It is in this context that we all too often deplore the mistreatment of animals (also in Switzerland) and the sale of products from the other side of the globe, and this, of course, to the detriment of quality.

Sequence from the film Samsara (2011) about factory farming

And what about Meaty?

For those who are still wondering: we know all about it. In fact, these bitter observations were even a source of motivation for the creation of Meaty.ch. In order to draw up a coherent balance sheet of our meat consumption, we think it's important to put this information into perspective.

Putting things into perspective

The environmental issues surrounding meat depend very much on the context in which it is produced. For example, the deforestation associated with beef production in Brazil, or the water pollution caused by the beef industry in Australia, are problems that cannot be transposed to Switzerland, a country with abundant pastures and water. What's more, the alarming facts mentioned above point to the world's current meat production, which is largely industrialized and globalized. It goes without saying that local, small-scale production generates less impact.

With these considerations in mind, it is interesting to analyze the main arguments against meat consumption, this time in the Swiss context:

Water consumption
Report It takes 15,000 liters of water to produce 1kg of beef.
Explanations Most of it is rainwater.
  • In these calculations, the vast majority of water (over 90%) is rainwater used to produce fodder (grass, cereals, etc.).
  • The water used by cattle is eventually returned to the soil through urine.
  • The problem arises when drinking water is used for irrigation.
In Switzerland / Chez Meaty
  • Agriculture accounts for 70% of the world's freshwater consumption, compared with 2% in Switzerland.
  • The amount of fresh water needed to produce a kilo of Swiss beef is similar to that needed to produce a kilo of rice, sugar or pasta.
Cereal consumption
Report To produce 1kg of beef, you need between 7 and 15kg of cereals.
Explanations Animals eat our waste, which is not edible.
  • 86% of all cereals fed to animals are not edible for humans (who are monogastric animals).
  • 90% of what is fed to ruminants is inedible (they are polygastric).
  • Animals are part of a cycle that transforms our waste into highly nutritious food.
In Switzerland / Chez Meaty
  • At Meaty, ruminant animals (beef, lamb) are mainly grass-fed.
  • Bio Bud beef comes from fully organic farms whose animals receive a maximum of 5% of their feed from cereals produced on the farm.
Greenhouse gases
Report Livestock farming is responsible for 14.5% of global GHG emissions.
Explanations The figures vary widely from country to country. Cows don't create carbon.
  • 80% of these emissions come from developing countries.
  • The methane released by cows comes from the carbon in plants, which comes from the CO2 in the air. It does not add carbon to the air.
  • However, it should be noted that this methane has a warming power (Global Warning Potential, GWP) up to 30 times greater than CO2.
In Switzerland / Chez Meaty
  • In Switzerland, the entire agricultural sector generates 14.6% of the country's GHG emissions. Livestock farming is responsible for 8% to 12% of emissions (depending on the source).
Use of agricultural land
Report 70% of the world's agricultural land is dedicated to livestock farming.
Explanations This figure is normal, considering the type of terrain.
  • 2/3 of the world's agricultural land is marginal (unusable for cultivation) due to topology, soil quality, nutrients, etc.
In Switzerland / Chez Meaty
  • Swiss farmland comprises 27.5% arable land. This arable land is declining, mainly due to the increase in residential areas.
Deforestation
Report Cattle farming is responsible for 60% of global deforestation.
Explanations This figure mainly concerns the Amazon.
  • Practices in Latin America (Brazil) are not unanimous and are very "local" realities.
In Switzerland / Chez Meaty
  • Deforestation is not a problem in Switzerland, where forests are expanding overall.

For the sake of simplicity, we apologize for not quoting the sources of this information. Most of this information is easily verifiable, notably on the websites of the Swiss Confederation and ViandeSuisse, and on IPCC and FAO reports.

Reduce your meat consumption

It is also interesting to note thata study by the IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) study shows that limiting meat consumption (flexitarianism) can reduce greenhouse gas emissions as much as a vegetarian diet (which risks being enriched with dairy products).

co2 reduction potential
CO2 emission reduction potential in 2050 by regime (Gt / year)

Animal welfare and dignity

The proper treatment of animals, from birth to slaughter, is a subject that concerns many of our customers, and rightly so. In Switzerland, too, animals are subjected to unacceptable treatment in some profit-driven farms and slaughterhouses.

At Meaty, animal welfare and dignity are real concerns, not just marketing arguments. We know each of our partner breeders personally, so we can guarantee small-scale breeding under excellent conditions. Read our article on this subject.

cows-aubrac-meinier
Aubrac beef from Desbiolles farm

What's more, all the animals sold on Meaty. ch (with the exception of poultry and pork, for which we have no choice of slaughter location) are slaughtered at the Meinier abattoir. Once again, this is an artisanal process. The animals are brought in by their breeder one after the other, so that they do not witness the death of their fellow animals. They are then stunned by a plunger that hits their brains in a fraction of a second. The veterinary surgeon present (at each slaughter) ensures that the animal is brain-dead (and therefore feels no pain) before proceeding with the bleeding. This is a far cry from some of the atrocities that have been witnessed on the industrial circuit.

abattoir meinier
Abattoir de Meinier (GE)

As far as the impact on health is concerned, we feel that the studies are clear when they mention the danger of over-consumption ofmeat. Like everything else, there's no such thing as too much of a good thing. Meat is a nutrient-rich food that should not be abused. Properly used, it is a real asset to the body. What's more, the fact that any serious vegan diet requires vitamin B12 supplementation is, in our view, an important consideration when it comes to the question of whether meat is necessary for the body.

In view of this information, we try to promote responsible consumption that respects the principles of sustainable developmentthe aim of Meaty.ch is to guarantee 100% local meat, produced on a small scale, with respect for the animals and minimal waste.

In a polarized world where everything is "right" or "wrong", "good" or "bad", it's tempting to give an absolute answer to the question "Should we feel guilty about eating meat?". At Meaty, we prefer to take the middle path: eat less but eat better.

Unable to add to cart

Possible reasons:

  • Quantity requested exceeds availability.
    Please check what has already been added to the basket.
  • Some products cannot be ordered simultaneously.
    Please consult the information on the product page.
Need help? Don't hesitate to Contact us.

Faut-il se sentir coupable de manger de la viande ?

La viande est un sujet au cœur des polémiques actuelles. Depuis que nous partageons notre contenu sur notre page Facebook, nous recevons régulièrement des messages réprobateurs suggérant que nous devrions avoir honte de promouvoir la consommation de viande, car se nourrir d’animaux serait considéré comme inacceptable de nos jours. Loin de vouloir rejeter le débat, nous souhaitions partager notre point de vue à ce propos.

Impact environnemental de la viande

Nous ne pouvions aborder le sujet sans nous pencher sur l’impact environnemental de la consommation de viande. Les scientifiques sont unanimes concernant le fait que la production de viande est l’une des sources principales de gaz à effet de serre. La consommation d’eau en découlant est également très importante et dans certains pays, l’élevage est responsable de déforestation massive.

deforestation
Déforestation dans l'état de Mato Grosso au Brésil

Viande et santé

En plus des questions environnementales, il est légitime de se poser la question de son impact sur la santé. En effet, de nombreuses études démontrent le lien entre la consommation de viande rouge et les maladies cardiovasculaires; il faut savoir qu’en Europe, on estime que ces maladies sont responsables de près de la moitié des décès.

Superproductions et dérives

Finalement, le commerce de viande est un secteur qui, comme tant d’autres, subit les dérives de cette folle course aux profits imposée par notre système économique. C’est dans ce contexte que l’on déplore trop souvent la maltraitance animale (aussi en Suisse) et la vente de produits provenant de l’autre côté du globe et ceci, bien évidemment, au détriment de la qualité.

Séquence du film Samsara (2011) sur l’élevage industriel

Et Meaty, dans tout ça ?

Pour ceux qui se posent encore la question : nous sommes au courant de tout cela. À vrai dire, ces constats amers ont même été une source de motivation en faveur de la création de Meaty.ch. Pour établir un bilan cohérent de notre consommation de viande, nous pensons qu’il est important de mettre en perspective ces informations.

Remise en perspective

Les questions environnementales concernant la viande dépendent beaucoup du contexte de production. Par exemple, la déforestation liée à la production de boeuf au Brésil ou la pollution de l’eau entrainée par l’industrie bovine en Australie sont des problèmes qui ne peuvent pas être transposés en Suisse, pays abondant en pâturages et en eau. En outre, les faits alarmants mentionnés auparavant font état de la production actuelle de viande dans le monde, qui est en grande partie industrielle et globalisée. Il va de soi qu’une production locale et à petite échelle génère un impact moindre.

Fort de ces considérations, il est intéressant d’analyser les principaux arguments relayés en défaveur de la consommation de viande, dans le contexte suisse :

Consommation d'eau
Constat Pour produire 1kg de bœuf, il faut 15’000 litres d’eau.
Explications Il s’agit en grande partie d’eau de pluie.
  • Dans ces calculs, la grande majorité de l’eau (plus de 90%) représente l’eau de pluie servant à la production du fourrage (herbe, céréales, etc.).
  • L’eau utilisée par le bétail est finalement rendue au sol par l'urine.
  • Le problème se situe lorsque l’eau potable est utilisée pour l’irrigation.
En Suisse / Chez Meaty
  • L’agriculture représente 70% de la consommation d’eau douce à l’échelle mondiale, contre 2% en Suisse.
  • La quantité d’eau douce nécessaire à la production d’un kilo de bœuf suisse est similaire à celle d'un kilo de riz, de sucre ou de pâtes.
Consommation de céréales
Constat Pour produire 1kg de bœuf, il faut entre 7 et 15kg de céréales.
Explications Les animaux mangent nos déchets, qui ne sont pas comestibles.
  • 86% de tous les céréales donnés aux animaux ne sont pas comestibles par l’homme (qui est un animal monogastrique).
  • 90% de ce qui est donné aux ruminants n’est pas comestible (eux sont polygastriques).
  • Les animaux font partie d’un cycle permettant de transformer nos déchets en nourriture hautement nutritive.
En Suisse / Chez Meaty
  • Chez Meaty, les animaux ruminants (boœuf, agneau) sont essentiellement nourris à l’herbe.
  • La viande de bœuf Bio Bourgeon provient de fermes entièrement bio dont les animaux reçoivent des céréales produits dans l’exploitation, à hauteur de maximum 10% de leur alimentation.
Gaz à effet de serre
Constat L’agriculture est responsable de 14,5% des émissions de GES dans le monde.
Explications Les chiffres sont très différents d’un pays à l’autre. Les vaches ne créent pas de carbone.
  • 80% de ces émissions proviennent des pays en développement.
  • Le méthane rejeté par les vaches provient du carbone des plantes, qui provient du CO2 de l’air. Il n’ajoute pas de carbone à l’air.
  • La durée de vie du méthane est de ~12 ans, contre ~100 ans pour le CO2.
En Suisse / Chez Meaty
  • La Suisse ne fait pas exception à la règle, avec 14% des émissions liées à l’agriculture.
Utilisation des terres agricoles
Constat 70% des terrains agricoles dans le monde sont dédiés à l’élevage.
Explications Ce chiffre est normal, quand on considère le type de terrain.
  • 2/3 des terrains agricoles dans le monde sont marginaux (inutilisables pour la culture) de par leur topologie, qualité du sol, nutriments, etc.
En Suisse / Chez Meaty
  • Les surfaces agricoles suisses comptent 27,5% de terres arables. Ces dernières sont en diminution, principalement à cause de l’augmentation des surfaces d’habitat.
Déforestation
Constat L’élevage bovin est responsable de 60% de la déforestation mondiale.
Explications Ce chiffre concerne essentiellement l’Amazonie.
  • Les pratiques en Amérique latine (Brésil) ne font pas l’unanimité et sont des réalités très « locales ».
En Suisse / Chez Meaty
  • La déforestation n’est pas un problème en Suisse, puisque les forêts y sont globalement en expansion.

Pour des raisons de simplicité, les sources de ces informations n’ont pas été citées et nous nous en excusons. Elles sont pour la plupart facilement vérifiables, notamment sur le site internet de ViandeSuisse et sur les rapports du GIEC et de la FAO.

Diminuer sa consommation de viande

Par ailleurs, il est intéressant de relever qu’une étude du GIEC (groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat) démontre qu’une limitation de la consommation de viande (flexitarisme) permet de réduire autant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre qu’un régime végétarien (qui risque d’être enrichi en produits laitiers).

potentiel reduction co2
Potentiel de réduction des émission de CO2 en 2050 par régime (Gt / an)

Bien-être et dignité des animaux

Le bon traitement des animaux, de leur naissance à leur abattage, est un sujet qui préoccupe beaucoup de nos clients, et à juste titre. En Suisse aussi, certains élevages et abattoirs focalisés sur le profit font subir des traitements inacceptables aux animaux.

Chez Meaty, le bien-être et la dignité des animaux est une réelle préoccupation et n’est pas un simple argument marketing. Nous connaissons personnellement chacun des éleveurs dont les animaux sont proposés et garantissons ainsi un élevage à petite échelle dans d’excellentes conditions.

vache et lac
Vache et lac dans le canton d'Appenzell Rhodes-Intérieures

En outre, tous les animaux vendus sur Meaty.ch (à l’exception des volailles et du porc, pour lesquels nous n’avons pas le choix du lieu d’abattage) sont abattus à l’abattoir de Meinier. Là encore, il s’agit d’un travail artisanal. Les animaux sont amenés par leur éleveur les uns après les autres, et ainsi n’assistent pas à la mort de leur congénères. Ils sont ensuite étourdis grâce à un piston qui tape leur cerveau en une fraction de seconde. Le vétérinaire présent (à chaque abattage) s’assure que l’animal est en état de mort cérébrale (et donc qu’il ne ressent aucune douleur) avant de procéder à la saignée.

abattoir meinier
Abattoir de Meinier (GE)

Concernant l’impact sur la santé, nous trouvons que les études sont claires quand elles mentionnent le danger de la surconsommation de viande. Comme toute chose, rien est bon à outrance. La viande est un aliment « chargé » nutritivement dont il ne faut pas abuser. Bien utilisé, il s’agit d’un réel atoût pour l’organisme. De plus, le fait que tout régime végétalien sérieux impose une supplétion en vitamine B12 est selon nous une considération importante lorsqu’on se demande si la viande est nécessaire à l’organisme.

En vue de ces informations, nous essayons de promouvoir une consommation responsable qui respecte les principes du développement durable; l’objectif de Meaty.ch est de garantir une viande 100% locale, produite à petite échelle, dans le respect des animaux, avec un gaspillage minimum.

Dans un monde polarisé où tout est « vrai » ou « faux », « bien » ou « mal », il serait tentant de donner une réponse absolue à la question « Faut-il se sentir coupable de manger de la viande ? ».  Chez Meaty, nous favorisons plutôt la voie du milieu : manger moins mais manger mieux.